I’m pleased to let you know that following requests from students in SPS and a successful trial last year the Library has now subscribed to IndiaStat.
Access is available through the Databases A-Z list or the South Asian Studies databases list. Access is available both on and off-campus with your EASE username and password. Continue reading
The Library currently has trial access to the Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online.
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) is a compendium of statistics about the United States and is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.
The Library already holds the print edition of Historical Statistics of the United States which you can find in DiscoverEd.
The online edition is fully searchable and has features that allow you to save search criteria, search within a chapter or volume, bookmark tables, view tables in PDF or HTML format, select certain years or series of years to view, create charts and graphs and much more.
Please note that during the trial period you will only be able to download and email tables, and view PDFs, in Part A: Population.
You can access the resource via the e-resources trials page. Access is available both on and off-campus.
Trial ends 1st May 2016.
Feedback welcome.
Access is only available to current students and staff at University of Edinburgh.
Caroline Stirling – Academic Support Librarian for Social and Political Science
*The Library has now purchased access to the Daily Mail Historical Archive (1896-2004). See New to the Library: Daily Mail Historical Archive.*
The Library currently has trial access to the Daily Mail Historical Archive (1896-2004). This fascinating online digital collection presents more than 100 years of the Daily Mail newspaper.
You can access the Daily Mail Historical Archive (1896-2004) via the E-resources trials page.
Trial ends 13th April 2016. Continue reading
…until now.
The many bibliographic and indexing databases you can access through the Library are fantastic and essential resources for your research and study whether you are an undergraduate, postgraduate or member of staff.
However, the Library subscribes to a large number of different kinds of databases that can be just as useful for your learning, teaching and research needs and we wanted to highlight just a small number of these that you may not have been aware of and might want to explore.
All databases can be accessed via the Databases A-Z list, unless otherwise noted.
In no particular order…
1. Box of Broadcasts (BoB) Continue reading
Studying American politics? Finding it hard to search for and locate the swathes of information being published by the US Federal Government? Voxgov may be for you.
The Library has set up trial access to Voxgov, a distinctive resource that pulls together the vast amount of US Federal Government information, communications and publications and allows you to easily search, discover, compare and get full text access to this material.
You can access Voxgov from the E-resources trials page on the Library website (or direct at https://www.voxgov.com). On-campus access is direct. For off-campus access you will need to use the VPN.
Following a successful trial in semester two, 2014-15, the Library has subscribed to Political Science Complete a major database in the areas of politics and international relations.
Political Science Complete provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. Continue reading
It’s hard to miss that today, Thursday 7th May 2015, the UK is going to the polls to vote in the General Election. Have you voted yet?
We’ve pulled together just a small selection of Library resources and external sources that you may find useful if you are interested in elections and the election process in general or specifically in the UK General Election 2015.
What do the papers say?
Although traditional news outlets are seen as less influential these days they still matter and have been extensively covering the General Election.
Factiva (off-campus access requires VPN) and NexisUK (click “Academic sign-in” and choose “UK federation”) allow you to search and access the full text of a large number of UK and international newspapers to find out how they have been covering the General Election. Read full text articles, compare how different newspapers are covering the same issues and stories, track the coverage of the General Election from the beginning and more. You can also use Lexis Library to specifically look at UK newspapers.
The Library has set up trial access to SIPRI Yearbook Online. You can access this via the E-resources trials page at www.ed.ac.uk/is/databases-trials.
The SIPRI Yearbook, written by authors who are experts in their field, is known worldwide as an essential and independent source for issues on armaments and arms control, conflicts and resolutions, security arrangements and disarmament, as well as longer-term trends in international security. SIPRI Yearbook Online offers access to the SIPRI Yearbooks published from 2010 and onwards, all available on one, easy-to-use and fully cross-searchable resource.
SIPRI (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute) is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Established in 1966, SIPRI provides data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public.Find out more at http://www.sipri.org/
Trial access is available until 30th April 2015. We would welcome feedback on this database as this helps with making the decision on whether the resource should be considered for subscription or not.
Caroline Stirling – Academic Support Librarian for Social and Political Science
The Library has set up trial access to Political Science Complete. You can access this via the E-resources trials page at www.ed.ac.uk/is/databases-trials.
This major database from EBSCO provides extensive coverage of global political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalisation of contemporary political discourse. Covering top-ranked scholarly journals, many of which are unique to the product, Political Science Complete is a must-have for researchers in the field. The database offers full-text access to a huge range of material including nearly 340 full-text reference books and monographs and more than 44,000 full-text conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association. Subject coverage includes comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organisations and political theory.
For a full list of publications covered by this database see the Coverage List (pdf).
Trial access is available until 24th April 2015. We would welcome feedback on this database as this helps with making the decision on whether the resource should be considered for subscription or not.
Caroline Stirling – Academic Support Librarian for Social and Political Science
Today is #WorldSocialWorkDay! We thought we’d give you a taster of social work resources available to students and staff here at the University of Edinburgh Library.
1. Have you seen Social Services Abstracts? This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Coverage includes community and mental health services; crisis intervention; the family and social welfare; gerontology; poverty and homelessness; professional issues in social work; social services in addiction; social work education; social work practice; violence, abuse, neglect.
You can access this and other relevant databases at databases for social work.
