ProQuest Congressional on trial

Posted on March 13, 2017 by spslibrarian

*The Library currently has access to ProQuest Congressional through the ProQuest Access 350 subscription until 31st July 2024. Access via the Databases A-Z list.*

The Library currently has trial access to the full range of digital collections for ProQuest Congressional. In addition to our existing Congressional Record access this provides access to the ‘Congressional Research Digital Collection’, or CRDC a collection of research materials – CRS Reports and Committee Prints – created for Congress. It also gives access to the ‘Congressional Hearings Digital Collection’, a collection of published and unpublished hearings held by Congress.

You can access the database via the E-resources trials page.
Access is available both on and off-campus.

Trial access ends on 1st April 2017.

Continue reading →

Trial access: Women’s Magazine Archive

Posted on February 22, 2017 by spslibrarian

*The Library has now purchased access to the ‘Women’s Magazine Archive, collection I and II’. See New to the Library: Women’s Magazine Archive.*

ProQuest have kindly allowed us to trial for a second time Women’s Magazine Archive I and II comprising archival runs of leading women’s consumer magazines of the 20th century which up till now have been difficult to locate and navigate.

You can access the database via the E-resources trials page.
Access is available both on and off-campus.

Trial access ends 15th March 2017.

Continue reading →

Trial access: News, Policy and Politics Magazine Archive

Posted on February 17, 2017 by spslibrarian

*The Library has now purchased access to the News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive. See New! News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive*

Following a request from staff in Politics & International Relations the Library has been able to secure trial access for a second time to News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive from ProQuest. An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy.

You can access the database via the E-resources trials page. Access is available both on and off-campus.

Trial access ends 15th March 2017.

Continue reading →

ProQuest’s ‘Black Newspapers’ on trial

Posted on February 15, 2017 by spslibrarian

*The Library has now purchased the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), one of the titles in the Black Newspaper Collection. See New to the Library: New York Amsterdam News* The Library also currently has access to all other Black Newspaper titles through the ProQuest Access 350 subscription until 31st July 2024. Access via the Databases A-Z list.*

For a limited time only the Library has access to Black Newspapers from ProQuest Historical Newspapers. This fantastic resource contains the archives of 9 individual newspaper titles that provide cultural perspective and insight to the events that shaped the United States in the 20th Century.

You can access the database via the E-resources trials page. Access is available both on and off-campus.

Trial access ends 15th March 2017.

Continue reading →

Go global with new BBC Monitoring service trial

Posted on November 17, 2016 by spslibrarian

We have a new trial to BBC Monitoring, accessible from the Eresources trials web page. Please note the steps required to login. Continue reading →

New to the Library: Africa-Wide Information

Posted on September 6, 2016 by spslibrarian

I’m pleased to let you know that after a successful trial earlier this year the Library has now subscribed to Africa-Wide Information from EBSCOhost. Bringing together 50 databases sourced from Africa, Europe and North America, Africa-Wide Information provides comprehensive, multidisciplinary information which documents research and publications by Africans and about Africa.

You can access Africa-Wide Information from the Databases A-Z list. Continue reading →

New to the Library: Academic Video Online

Posted on August 9, 2016 by spslibrarian

The Library has recently purchased access to the large and comprehensive online streaming video resource Academic Video Online from Alexander Street Press. Covering a wide range of subject areas, students and staff can use this resource to find content to meet your learning, teaching, and research interests.

You can access Academic Video Online from the Databases A-Z list.

Academic Video Online provides us with access to over 50,000 video titles covering subject areas such as Anthropology, History, Criminal Justice, Business, Counselling, Social Sciences, Education, Theatre and Drama, Diversity Studies, Science, etc. There is a wide range of material available including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. And you will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy and Peabody winners. Continue reading →

New to the Library: British Politics and Society

Posted on July 19, 2016 by spslibrarian

I’m happy to let you know that following a successful trial and positive feedback the Library has now purchased access to Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Politics and Society from Gale Cengage.

You can access Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Politics and Society via the Databases A-Z.

British Politics and Society brings together primary source documentation that enables a greater understanding and analysis of the development of urban centers and of the major restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution. Continue reading →

New resource: Historical Statistics of the United States

Posted on June 16, 2016 by spslibrarian

I’m pleased to let you know that following a successful trial earlier this year the Library has recently purchased Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online.

Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) is a compendium of statistics about the United States and is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Continue reading →

SPS Librarian

Academic Support Librarians for staff & students in the School of Social and Political Science blogging on Library resources, services and skills.

Tag Archives: databases

ProQuest’s ‘Black Newspapers’ on trial

New resource: Historical Statistics of the United States