Tag Archives: databases

Find out more about fair trade

Posted on by
Reply

PrintThis year’s Fairtrade Fortnight runs from 23 February to 8 March 2015 and is celebrating the power of everyday choices by telling the other half of a product’s story – the producer’s – to show the difference Fairtrade makes.

For the past twenty years Fairtrade Fortnight has aimed to educate the public on why to choose Fairtrade and increase sales on Fairtrade terms for marginalised producers. And this year they want people to “choose products that change lives”.

We’ve pulled together a list of resources, primarily available at the University Library, to help you read around or find out more about this subject. Online material, such as e-books and e-journal articles and access to Searcher and other databases, are only available to staff and students at University of Edinburgh unless otherwise indicated. Continue reading →

SPS Librarian Top 5 blog posts 2014 – no. 4

Posted on by
Reply

As exams are almost over and semester one nears its end we are reposting our Top 5 blog posts from this year, every day in the final week of semester.

At number 4 an introduction to a new online resource purchased for SPS Media Education Foundation digital films.

MEF_Digital_Graphic

 

Caroline Stirling – Academic Support Librarian for Social and Political Science

SPS Librarian Top 5 blog posts 2014 – no. 5

Posted on by
Reply

As exams are almost over and semester one nears its end we are reposting our Top 5 blog posts from this year, every day in the final week of semester.

At number 5, oddly enough is another Top 5, this time Top 5 women’s studies library resources.

Top_5_SPS-Lib_blog_posts_no_5_resized

 

Caroline Stirling – Academic Support Librarian for Social and Political Science

Trial access to World Newspapers Archive now available

Posted on by
1

*The Library has now purchased access to African Newspapers, Series 1. See New! African Newspapers, Series 1 1800-1922*

The Library has set up trial access to World Newspapers Archive (Readex) which gives us access to the African Newspapers, South Asian Newspapers and Latin American Newspapers collections. You can access World Newspapers Archive via the Databases trials page at www.ed.ac.uk/is/databases-trials Continue reading →

New online resource for SPS: Media Education Foundation digital films

Posted on by
4

The Library has recently subscribed to the Media Education Foundation (MEF) digital films service via the Kanopy streaming service. MEF produce and provide documentary films and other educational resources to inspire critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. IF Continue reading →

Top five library resources for Politics

Posted on by
Reply

It’s one month to go until the Scottish Referendum and as Scotland is gearing up to decide its future and politics dominates the news we thought we’d give you a taster of political science resources available to students and staff here at University of Edinburgh Library.

1. Why not have a look at the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers for documents relating to the previous Scottish devolution referendums? The 18th, 19th, 20th and 21st Century House of Commons Parliamentary Papers contains bibliographic records and searchable full text for papers printed between 1688-2004. It also includes Hansard 1803-2005. The collection does not include the House of Commons Journal, or daily business papers, such as Order papers and Votes and Proceedings, nor does it include Acts. You can access this and other relevant databases at databases for Politics.IF Continue reading →

New online resource for SPS: Peace Research Abstracts

Posted on by
1

The Library has recently subscribed to the online database Peace Research Abstracts. This is a comprehensive database for peace and conflict resolution research and is a particularly useful resource for those studying International Relations and Politics.

PeaceResearchAbsPeace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Continue reading →

New online resources for SPS: China Law Info and PAIS International

Posted on by
1

The Library has recently subscribed to the online databases China Law Info and PAIS International.

IF

China Law Info
China Law Info is a bilingual database for China legal documents and information. The database provides both the original Chinese version and the English translation of China laws and regulations, judicial cases, tax treaties, white papers, law journals and gazettes, as well as other China legal information such as legal news and legislative/regulatory updates. The database is updated daily.

IF

PAIS International
PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) International covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present. Fields of study covered include:

  • Civil rights movement
  • Economic conditions
  • Energy resources and policy
  • Government
  • Health conditions
  • Human rights
  • International relations
  • Labour conditions and policy
  • Politics
  • Social conditions

You can access China Law Info and PAIS International via the Databases A-Z list on the Library website.

Caroline Stirling – Academic Support Librarian for Social and Political Science

Top 5 women’s studies library resources

Posted on by
1

Emmeline Pankhurst, leader of the British suffragette movement and one of the most important feminist public figures of all time, was born today (15th July) in 1858. To celebrate her birthday and work we thought we would give you a taster of women’s studies resources here at University of Edinburgh Library.

1. Take a look at the database Women, War & Society (part of Archives Unbound). The First World War had a revolutionary and permanent impact on the personal, social and professional lives of all women. This database is a collection of primary source materials sourced from the Imperial War Museum, London that documents the essential contribution women made to the war in Europe. You can access this and other relevant databases at databases for women’s studies.

IF

Continue reading →

Very Short Introductions – Social Sciences

Posted on by
1

VeryshortintroductionsThe Library has recently subscribed to the online version of Oxford University Press’ Very Short Introduction series for the Social Sciences.

The Social Sciences collection includes titles within the following fields of study:

  • Anthropology
  • Human Geography
  • Politics
  • Sociology
  • Warfare & Defence

And also includes titles on business, management, economics, education, research and information.

You can access Very Short Introductions via the Databases A-Z list on the Library website. Once into the site you can click on Browse by Subject and click on the relevant subject under the Social Sciences heading. Or you can use the search facility on the site, though full text access is only available to titles within the Social Sciences collections.

Launched in 1995 by OUP, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. Since the series was launched it has continued to offer new books each year for students and scholars, and the avidly curious, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.

The Library also holds the print copies of many of the Very Short Introduction titles; you can find these in the Library Catalogue.

Caroline Stirling – Academic Library Support for Social and Political Science.