Tag Archives: databases

New! Oxford Handbooks Political Science 2017 collection

Posted on by
Reply

I’m pleased to let you know that following a request from staff in Politics & International Relations the Library now has access to the Oxford Handbooks Online Political Science 2017 collection. This includes titles such as The Oxford Handbook of Populism, The Oxford Handbook of Gender and Conflict and The Oxford Handbook of U.S. National Security.

You can access the individual book titles in the collection via DiscoverEd. Or you can access the Oxford Handbooks Online site via the E-books pages.  Continue reading →

New! News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive

Posted on by
5

I’m happy to let you know that following some successful trials in the last couple of years the Library has purchased the News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive from ProQuest. This resource offers digital access to the archival runs of 15 major 20th and 21st century consumer magazines covering such fields as the history of politics, current events, public policy and international relations. Central to this collection is the archive of Newsweek, one of the 20th century’s most prominent and highest circulating general interest magazine.

You can access News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive from the Databases A-Z list and appropriate databases by subject lists. You’ll soon be able to access it from DiscoverEd as well. Continue reading →

New! Development Bookshelf from Practical Action

Posted on by
Reply

I’m pleased to let you know that the Library now has access to Development Bookshelf, produced by Practical Action. Development Bookshelf is a specialist peer-reviewed and evidence-based online book collection for International Development policy, practice and research professionals.

You can currently access Development Bookshelf via the International Development subject guide, relevant databases by subject lists or via the e-book pages.

The collection reflects the learning of multiple agencies and development professionals across a variety of specialist subject areas. Content can be browsed by subject area including topics such as agriculture and food, disasters and emergencies, gender, global public health, NGO management, social development and technology or by using keyword quick search. Continue reading →

5 recommended library resources for LGBT+ History Month

Posted on by
1

February has seen the celebration of LGBT+ History Month in the UK and you may have enjoyed one of the many fantastic events put on by the University’s Staff Pride Network or the University’s Students’ Association. LGBT+ History Month may be near the end but I wanted to highlight just some of the library resources available to staff and students of the University that will allow you to study and research LGBT+ history further.

1. Books, journals, articles, etc.

The Main Library is co-hosting a ‘micro-exhibition’ with student groups Project Myopia and LiberatEd with a pop-up book display on the ground floor this week. A LGBT+ History Month Resource List has also been put together to highlight the wide range of LGBT+ books available at the University Library. This is just a selection of titles available at the Library and you can use DiscoverEd to find more.

You can also use DiscoverEd to search for and find a large range of journal articles and journals on LGBT+ related research. Or you can go further in your research by using some of the bibliographic databases the Library has access to that will allow you to search for journal articles, abstracts, book reviews, book chapters, reports and proceedings, etc.

2. What to watch?

You can use some of the Library’s moving image and video streaming databases to search for and view films, documentaries, news programmes, interviews, plays, TV programmes, etc. Continue reading →

Trial access: Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics online

Posted on by
Reply

Thanks to a request from a member of staff the Library currently has trial access to the online Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics. This resource offers long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars on a large and varied range of topics and subjects related to politics.

You can access the database via the E-resources trials page.
Access is available both on and off-campus.

Trial access ends 12th December 2017.

Updated regularly you can easily search the resource, browse by subfield or search within a subfield. It also gives you options to refine and sort your search results.

Access Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics via e-resources trials.
Access is available until 12th December 2017.
Feedback welcome.

Access is only available to current students and staff at University of Edinburgh.

Caroline Stirling – Academic Support Librarian for Social and Political Science

Trial access: World Politics Review

Posted on by
Reply

I’m pleased to let you know that the Library currently has extended trial access to World Politics Review from EBSCO, which provides up to date and extensive coverage of foreign policy, international politics and foreign affairs.

You can access the database via the E-resources trials page.
Access is available both on and off-campus.

Trial access ends 31st December 2017.

World Politics Review is a daily online publication for foreign policy issues. Articles for the Review are written by several hundred contributors from around the world, experts in a variety of disciplines. Full text is included in PDF and/or HTML and the Review contains thousands of articles in its archive. Continue reading →

Ruth Fulton Benedict Papers

Posted on by
Reply

I’m pleased to let you know that a large portion of American anthropologist Ruth Benedict’s professional and personal papers are now freely available online. These have been made available by Alexander Street Press via one of their open access initiatives Anthropology Commons.

You can access the Ruth Fulton Benedict Papers via the Databases A-Z list or via the Anthropology database list. Continue reading →

New! The Encyclopedia of Political Thought

Posted on by
Reply

I’m happy to let you know that following requests from staff in Politics & International Relations the Library has purchased access to The Encyclopedia of Political Thought online from Wiley Blackwell. The Encyclopedia examines the history of political thought, contemporary political theory, and political philosophy.

You can access The Encyclopedia of Political Thought via DiscoverEd.

The Encyclopedia offers over 900 A-Z entries, including shorter definitions and biographies as well as extended treatments of major topics, from over 700 contributors from around the world. Examining the history of political thought from antiquity to contemporary political theory and political philosophy, the Encyclopedia also reflects diverse traditions in the evolution of political theory and political science. Continue reading →

New! House of Lords Parliamentary Papers

Posted on by
Reply

I’m pleased to let you know that the Library has purchased access to the House of Lords Parliamentary Papers (1800-1910) from ProQuest. This resource provides online access to previously unseen and valuable historical documents and is the very first digitised collection of 19th century House of Lords Parliamentary Papers.

You can access the House of Lords Parliamentary Papers (1800-1910) via the Databases A-Z list.

The House of Lords Parliamentary Papers (1800-1910) is an essential research resource that, along with the existing House of Commons Parliamentary Papers database (which the Library already has access to), provides a complete picture of the working and influence of the UK Parliament during the pivotal 19th century. Continue reading →

Observing the EU with the EUobserver

Posted on by
Reply

The Library has been given trial access to the independent online newspaper EUobserver. Launched in 2000 their aim is to support European democracy by giving people the information they need to hold the European Union (EU) establishment to account.

You can access the database via the E-resources trials page.
Access is available both on and off-campus.

Trial access ends on 7th April 2017.

EUobserver is an independent, not-for-profit news organisation established in Brussels in 2000. Their team of  journalists file daily news reports from the EU capital and beyond and do in-depth investigations on topics of special interest. EUobserver is the only independent news media covering EU affairs in Brussels and all 28 member states. They are not funded by the EU institutions.

The database can be accessed for the duration of the trial period via e-resources trials.
Access is available both on and off-campus.
Trial access ends 7th April 2017.
Feedback welcome.