BOO-lean operators TAGS: databases | DiscoverEd | information skills | Legal databases | library training | online resources | research | searching | tips | videos We know Hallowe’en was last week, but saw this on Twitter and it’s too good not to share! If you’ve ever wondered what library staff (and mathematicians and engineers and many …Continue reading →

Lexis+ database training: LexisNexis Certification TAGS: databases | information skills | Legal databases | Lexis+ | LexisLibrary | LexisPSL | library training | mediahopper | online resources | research | resources | Training You may remember last week we posted a reminder about the Lexis+ training we had scheduled. That training took place yesterday and those that attended found it very helpful, so …Continue reading →

Lexis+ database training: Thursday 20th October TAGS: databases | information skills | Legal databases | Lexis+ | LexisLibrary | LexisPSL | online resources | tips | Training We’ve got a training day for the new Lexis+ database coming up which we highly recommend for students of all levels. The new platform from Lexis replaces LexisLibrary and LexisPSL …Continue reading →

Roper iPoll and Health Poll Database – on trial TAGS: data | databases | Global Health Policy | health | history | national polling | online resources | Politics | public opinion | surveys | United States of America *The Library now has access to Roper iPoll. See New! Roper iPoll.* Thanks to a request from staff in SPS the Library currently has short-term trial access to both Roper …Continue reading →

On trial: HNP Louisville Defender TAGS: 20th century | Archives | Black history | cultural history | databases | history | Politics | primary source | social history | United States Thanks to a request from staff in HCA the Library currently has trial access to the Louisville Defender part of ProQuest’s Historical Newspaper collections. An excellent source for coverage on …Continue reading →

New to the Library: The Telegraph Historical Archive TAGS: 19th century | 20th century | 21st century | Archives | Britain | cultural history | databases | history | Newspapers | primary source | social history I’m very pleased to let you know that the Library has recently purchased The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2016 from Gale, the fully searchable digital archive of what was once the …Continue reading →

On trial: Manchuria Daily News Online TAGS: 20th century | Archives | Asia | China | cultural history | databases | japan | Newspapers | Politics | social history Thanks to a request from a HCA student the Library currently has trial access Manchuria Daily News Online from Brill. This resource offers scholars of the modern history of Japan …Continue reading →

New! Colonial Law in Africa, 1946-1966 TAGS: 20th century | Africa | African Studies | Archives | databases | history | International Relations | online resources | Politics | primary sources I’m pleased to let you know that the Library has recently purchased Colonial Law in Africa, 1946-1966 from British Online Archives. This database provides access to the African Government Gazettes …Continue reading →

Using modules in LexisPSL TAGS: databases | diploma | induction | Legal databases | LexisLibrary | LexisPSL | library training | research | tips | updates This summer we’ve increased the number of modules we have access to in LexisPSL due to student demand! Students and staff can now view all the practitioner advice and notes …Continue reading →

New to the Library: U.S. Declassified Documents Online TAGS: 20th century | 21st century | Archives | databases | government papers | history | International Relations | official documents | Politics | primary source | United States Thanks to a request from HCA staff the Library has recently purchased U.S. Declassified Documents Online from Gale. This database provides immediate access to a broad range of previously classified …Continue reading →