New to the Library: Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 TAGS: 20th century | Archives | databases | history | International Relations | official documents | Politics | social history | South Asia I’m pleased to let you know that following a request from staff in HCA the Library now has access to Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980. This …Continue reading →

Library Bitesize Session Review TAGS: Bitesize | databases | digital skills | DiscoverEd | E-book | e-books | e-journals | e-resources | online resources | student blog Introduction Despite being in my fourth and final year, I am still constantly discovering resources offered to students by the University! Most recently, I attended a Library Bitesize course for …Continue reading →

New to the Library: Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers TAGS: 19th century | Archives | Black history | cultural history | databases | history | Newspapers | Politics | primary source | social history | United States I’m happy to let you know that the Library now has access to Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers from Gale which provides access to a collection of 400 U.S. newspapers, covering …Continue reading →

On trial: U.S. Declassified Documents Online TAGS: 20th century | 21st century | Archives | databases | history | official documents | United States *The Library has now purchased this resource. See New to the Library: U.S. Declassified Documents Online.* Thanks to a request from staff in HCA the Library currently has trial access …Continue reading →

Dissertation Festival Blog: Engineering Village resources for dissertations TAGS: Covid-19 | databases | digital skills | dissertation | Dissertation Festival | e-resources | Engineering Village | students Introduction The day has finally arrived, the end of my Dissertation Festival Blog series. To recap, the Library’s Dissertation Festival is a collaborative effort from the Library, Digital Skills department …Continue reading →

Training and dissertation support TAGS: databases | dissertation | ebooks | information skills | Legal databases | library services | library training | online resources | Referencing | Training We know it’s that time of year where dissertation research is many students’ top priority so we have scheduled some events that we hope will help you prepare for the …Continue reading →

Three new things: Dissertations TAGS: databases | dissertation | ebooks | information skills | library services | online resources | research | resources | subject guide | tips | Training It’s around the time where many of our students will be planning and beginning the research for their dissertations. If you’re at the start of this journey and looking for …Continue reading →

Literature search clinics: one-to-one sessions TAGS: databases | information skills | library training | online resources | Referencing | research | resources | Training Do you need help with your research? Have you got yourself into a muddle using legal resources online? Do you just need to know what you need to know? Book …Continue reading →

Spotlight on Secret Files from World Wars to Cold Wars TAGS: 20th century | Africa | Archives | Britain | Cold War | databases | East Asia | Europe | First World War | history | International Relations | middle east | official documents | Politics | primary source | United States | World War Two Are you interested in British intelligence, foreign policy, international relations, and military history in the 20th century? Then Secret Files from World Wars to Cold Wars: Intelligence, Strategy and Diplomacy …Continue reading →

Dissertation Festival 2021 TAGS: Archaeology | Archives | Centre for Research Collections | classics | databases | dissertation | history | literature searching | National Library of Scotland | Newspapers | official documents | parliamentary papers | primary source | search strategy | Special Collections From 8 – 19 March the Library is running an online Dissertation Festival. The events taking place during this two week period will highlight what the Library can do for …Continue reading →