On trial: British Online Archives TAGS: 15th century | 16th century | 17th century | 18th century | 19th century | 20th century | Africa | Archives | Asia | Black history | Britain | cultural history | databases | Europe | First World War | history | International Relations | Manuscripts | official documents | Politics | primary source | social history | United States | World War Two *Access has now been extended until 31st March 2022.* I’m pleased to let you know that British Online Archives (BOA) are providing free trial access to its entire collection of …Continue reading →

NEW: UK Dockets on Westlaw TAGS: databases | Legal databases | research | resources | westlaw Westlaw are pleased to announce the launch of UK Dockets on Westlaw UK. A docket is a record of litigation events as a case goes through the courts, starting when …Continue reading →

On trial: Vetus Latina Database TAGS: Ancient history | Bible | biblical texts | classics | databases | history | Latin *The Library now has access to this resource. See New to the Library: Vetus Latina Database* Thanks to a request from staff in HCA the Library currently has trial access …Continue reading →

New Resources on HeinOnline: Covid-19 Research TAGS: databases | heinonline | Legal databases | online resources | research | resources HeinOnline is one of the most used legal resources that staff and students have access to. It offers access to a large number of resources including: Full text legal journals U.S …Continue reading →

New Year, New UoE Library Services training sessions TAGS: catchup | databases | induction | information skills | Legal databases | library services | library training | online resources | research | revision | tips | Training | update | welcome Welcome back to Edinburgh! Although we don’t yet know what 2022 has in store for us, we do know that we’re keen to make sure our students are the best …Continue reading →

Finding International Legal Resources TAGS: course materials | databases | information skills | Legal databases | LexisLibrary | mediahopper | online resources | research | resources | Training | videos | westlaw Following on from our last post about Finding Material for your Research and Study, we’ve just recorded a new video to introduce some of the databases we subscribe to for …Continue reading →

Finding Resources: Subject Guides TAGS: Archaeology | biology | Business | Chemistry | classics | cultures | databases | digital skills | DiscoverEd | Divinity | e-books | e-journals | e-resources | ECA | Economics | Engineering | GeoSciences | Health in Social Science | history | Informatics | information literacy | Language Sciences | languages | Library | literatures | Medicine | Moray House | online resources | Philosophy | Physics | psychology | social and political science | student blog | subject guides | Veterinary medicine Where to start? Following on from my general tips for finding resources and navigating the online library, this blog post will cover why you should check out Subject Guides, and …Continue reading →

Mixed Methods Reviews TAGS: databases | digital skills | Library | online resources | research methods | Systematic review Most researchers have heard of and understand the needs of a systematic review (SR), however the concept of a mixed methods review (MMR) can be confusing. The types of questions …Continue reading →

Meet your LexisNexis Student Associate for 2021/22! TAGS: databases | LexisLibrary | library training | online resources | research | resources | tips | Training We’d like to introduce you to Noah Norbash, one of your fellow students who is a specialist in working with LexisNexis and all their resources – such as the invaluable LexisLibrary …Continue reading →

Finding Resources: Navigating the Online Library TAGS: databases | digital skills | e-books | e-journals | e-resources | Library | online resources | students | subject guides The Online Library is a vast resource. Whatever you study, you will find what you need in the Library collections. For all that it is wide and wonderful, however, I know (from personal …Continue reading →