On trial: Gale Primary Sources (even more content!) TAGS: 16th century | 17th century | 18th century | 19th century | 20th century | Africa | Archives | Asia | Black history | Britain | China | correspondence | crime | cultural history | databases | Europe | gender studies | history | International Relations | Law | Legal history | Letters | Literature | Manuscripts | Medicine | Newspapers | official documents | periodicals | Politics | primary source | science | slavery | social history | technology | United States | women's history I’m very pleased to let you know that the Library has been given extended trial access to an extensive range of primary source databases and collections from Gale. This is …Continue reading →

On trial: The John Murray Publishing Archive TAGS: 18th century | 19th century | 20th century | Archives | Books | Britain | Business | correspondence | cultural history | databases | finance | history | history of the book | Literature | official documents | primary source | publishing *The Library has subsequently purchased this database and it can be accessed via the Digital Primary Source and Archive Collections guide or the Databases A-Z list.* I’m pleased to let …Continue reading →

On Trial: The Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2016 TAGS: 19th century | 20th century | 21st century | Archives | Britain | crime | cultural history | databases | history | Newspapers | Politics | primary source | social history Thanks to a request from a HCA student I’m happy to let you know that the Library has extended trial access to The Sunday Times Historical Archive from Gale, giving …Continue reading →

Universal Database of Ukrainian Periodicals – on trial TAGS: Bibliographies | cultural affairs | databases | e-journals | Economics | International Relations | journals | Newspapers | periodicals | Politics | Ukraine Thanks to a request from a student in SPS the Library currently has trial access to the Universal Database of Ukrainian Periodicals (UDB-UKR) from EastView. The world’s first database of …Continue reading →

On Trial – The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600-1926 TAGS: 17th century | 18th century | 19th century | 20th century | Africa | Archives | Argentina | Australia | Britain | Canada | databases | Europe | history | Law | Manuscripts | official documents | Politics | primary source Thanks to a request from staff in HCA the Library current has extended trial access to The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600-1926 from Gale. This …Continue reading →

Digital archives and primary sources for your dissertation TAGS: Ancient history | Archaeology | Archives | classics | Covid-19 | databases | dissertations | history | primary source Not sure where to access digital archives and primary sources? Suddenly having to change the focus of your disseration and unsure what online resources may be available to you instead …Continue reading →

Manchester University Press – free e-book access until 30th June TAGS: Books | databases | film | history | history of medicine | International Relations | Literature | online resources | Politics | Religious Studies | Science Technology and Innovation studies | Security I’m pleased to let you know that Manchester University Press (MUP) have opened up access to their 12 e-book collections until 30th June 2020 in light of the Covid-19 outbreak. …Continue reading →

On trial: South Asia Archive TAGS: 18th century | 19th century | 20th century | Archives | Asia | Books | cultural history | databases | history | India | International Relations | journals | Manuscripts | official documents | primary source | social history *The Library now has permanent access to the South Asia Archive. See New to the Library: South Asia Archive * Thanks to a request from a HCA staff member the …Continue reading →

British Online Archives – full access until 30th June 2020 TAGS: Africa | Archives | Asia | Black history | Britain | databases | Europe | First World War | global history | history | India | International Relations | official documents | Politics | primary source | slavery | world history | World War Two *Access has been extended until 30th June 2020* I’m happy to let you know that British Online Archives (BOA) are providing 30 days free access (starting from 23rd March) to …Continue reading →

JSTOR – expanded set of content freely available now TAGS: Africa | Ancient history | anthropology | Archaeology | Archives | Art History | Arts | Black history | Britain | classics | cultural history | databases | e-books | e-journals | history | Humanities | journals | primary source | Social Sciences *JSTOR have extended their expanded access to e-journals and digital primary source databases until 31st December 2020 and their expanded access to e-books until 31st August 2020.* I’m delighted to …Continue reading →