Dissertation Festival 2020

Posted on October 16, 2020 by spslibrarian

From 26 October – 6 November the Library is running a virtual Dissertation Festival. The online events taking place during this two week period will highlight what the Library can do for you to help you succeed with your dissertation.

In this blog post I am going to focus on the sessions that might be of particular interest to dissertation students (undergraduates or postgraduates) in the School of Social and Political Science (SPS). However, to find all sessions available and to book on take a look at the Dissertation guide. Continue reading →

New! Kenya and Zimbabwe under colonial rule, in Government reports

Posted on August 21, 2020 by spslibrarian

I’m happy to let you know that the Library now has access to two digital primary source collections covering colonial rule in African countries in the 20th century. The two databases are Kenya under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1907-1964 and Zimbabwe under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1897-1980. Between them they contain 290 documents with over 158,000 pages of original primary source material.

You can access both of these databases via the Digital Primary Source and Archive Collections guide, the Databases A-Z list or the African Studies subject guide. Continue reading →

New! British Labour Party and Independent Labour Party Papers

Posted on August 21, 2020 by spslibrarian

I’m happy to let you know that the Library now has access to 3 British Online Archive digital collections of primary source documents relating to British political history in the 20th century:

British Labour Party Papers, 1906-1968
British Labour Party Papers, 1968-1994
Independent Labour Party Records, 1893-1960.

You can access all 3 databases via the Digital Primary Source and Archive Collections guide, the Databases A-Z list and the Politics and International Relations subject guide. Continue reading →

New! Social Work Online

Posted on July 28, 2020 by spslibrarian

University of Edinburgh Library has recently set up a subscription with ProQuest that gives you access to almost all available ProQuest digital primary source databases until 31st July 2024. See ProQuest Access 350. This is the first in a series of blog posts that will highlight particular databases or collections from ProQuest Access 350 that are relevant to the School of Social and Political Science.

Social Work Online

Social Work Online is a first-of-its-kind resource that pairs recently published social work textbooks along with compelling documentaries, clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. The content is structured around twelve of the most important topics in the social work curriculum, most of which are applicable worldwide. Continue reading →

New! African Newspapers, Series 1 1800-1922

Posted on June 23, 2020 by spslibrarian

I’m pleased to let you know that the Library had recently purchased the digital primary source database African Newspapers, Series 1 1800-1922 part of the World Newspaper Archive from Readex. This gives you unique access to a fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from Africa.

You can access the African Newspapers, Series 1 1800-1922 via the Newspapers, Magazines and Other News Sources guide. Or you can access it via the Databases A-Z list. Individual newspaper titles will also be added to DiscoverEd in the near future. Continue reading →

New! LGBT Magazine Archive

Posted on June 15, 2020 by spslibrarian

I’m happy to let you know that the Library now has access to the LGBT Magazine Archive from ProQuest until 31st July 2024. This primary source database is a searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years.

You can access the LGBT Magazine Archive via the Newspapers, Magazines and Other News Sources guide. Or you can access it via the Databases A-Z list. Individual magazine titles will be added to DiscoverEd this week. Continue reading →

Oxford Politics Trove – on trial

Posted on May 19, 2020 by spslibrarian

Thanks to a request from a member of staff from Politics & International Relations, the Library currently has extended trial access to Oxford Politics Trove, which enables you, for the first time, to search and interrogate the wealth of Oxford’s politics textbook list.

You can access Oxford Politics Trove via the E-resources trials page.
Access is available on and off-campus.

Trial access ends 30th June 2020. Continue reading →

The Library in the time of Covid-19

Posted on April 30, 2020 by spslibrarian

Not sure what Library resources, services and support are available to you at this unusual time? You can always keep up to date with all of this via our Library Covid-19 site but we’d like to highlight some key areas in this blog post.

Temporary access to e-books and other e-resources
E-books and books in general
Requesting a chapter from a book or journal article for personal use
Digital primary source and archive collections
Returning library books

Temporary access to e-books and other e-resources

The Library is already in a strong position when it comes to online resources and digital collections. We have around 1.4 million e-books, 185,000 e-journals, 700 licensed databases, 84,000 streaming videos and 6,000 scanned book chapters and journal articles. The majority of this content can be accessed via DiscoverEd and your subject guides. Continue reading →

Universal Database of Ukrainian Periodicals – on trial

Posted on April 16, 2020 by spslibrarian

Thanks to a request from a student in SPS the Library currently has trial access to the Universal Database of Ukrainian Periodicals (UDB-UKR) from EastView. The world’s first database of newspapers and magazines of Ukraine, it includes publications in Russian, Ukrainian and English.

You can access the Universal Database for Ukrainian Periodicals from the E-resources trials page.
Access is available on and off-campus.

Trial access ends 15th May 2020. Continue reading →

Manchester University Press – free e-book access until 30th June

Posted on April 7, 2020 by spslibrarian

I’m pleased to let you know that Manchester University Press (MUP) have opened up access to their 12 e-book collections until 30th June 2020 in light of the Covid-19 outbreak.

While the University Library already has access to a large number of e-books published by MUP, and already subscribes to 1 of the 12 collections, this extended access opens up a wide range of e-books that we’ve not had access to before for a limited period of time. Continue reading →

SPS Librarian

Academic Support Librarians for staff & students in the School of Social and Political Science blogging on Library resources, services and skills.

Tag Archives: databases

New! African Newspapers, Series 1 1800-1922

Universal Database of Ukrainian Periodicals – on trial

Manchester University Press – free e-book access until 30th June