Tag Archives: databases

E-Resource Trials ending soon

Leave a reply

Last chance to try out the following e-resources and send in your feedback – these trials all end on the 30th November.

AcademicFocus

AcademicFocus is a one-stop access platform for China English journals, including:

  1. Academic journals originally published in English in mainland China
  2. English translations of top China academic journals (which we have access to via the China Academic Journals database platform)
  3. Proceedings of international conferences held in China.

As of October 2017, there are 267 journals and 2447 conference proceedings and the numbers will grow. Subjects cover all areas in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

 

Arab World Research Source:™ Al-Masdar

Arab World Research Source is a dedicated resource of scholarly journals, quality magazines, trade publications, industry profiles, country reports, market research reports and conference papers related to the Arab World. This resource reaches across all major subject disciplines, including business, economics, science, technology, humanities and sociology. The database contains more than 140 scholarly full text titles, with the majority of the journals featuring Arabic full text.

 

Bloomsbury Design Library

The Bloomsbury Design Library is a comprehensive online resource offering coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It combines carefully curated text and image content of the highest quality with an intuitive taxonomy for research and discovery. It can be used to enhance teaching, learning and research in the field of Visual Arts and Design.

 

EBSCO eBooks™ Arabic Collection: Al-Kotob

Serving the countries and territories of the Arabic League and beyond, this Middle Eastern collection of 4,600 Arabic e-books covers a broad range of academic subjects, including art, biography, business, child development, education, medicine, social sciences, humanities, Islamic studies, history, law, music, religion, political science, technology, engineering and more. The collection includes content from noteworthy publishers as well as award-winning authors including Abbas Mahmoud El Akkad, Fatima Naaot, Mohamed Awad Aidi, and Ibrahim Abdel Qader Mezni.

 

MedOne Neurosurgery

MedOne Neurosurgery is a unique online resource providing the global neurosurgical community with unprecedented access to Thieme’s entire neurosurgery collection (E-Books, Journals, Procedures, Cases, Media and Training Center).

 

One Belt, One Road Reference Source

One Belt One Road Reference Source is a collection of full-text journals and publications to support the understanding and study of the One Belt One Road mega-region including parts of Asia, the Middle East, and Central and Eastern Europe. It is the only comprehensive source of full text journals and publications published in, and about the 65 countries which make-up the One Belt One Road initiative.

 

Further info.

Access these and other trials from our Trials Webpage.

E-Resource Trials ending on Monday

Leave a reply

There are a few days left to try out the following potential new e-resources and send in your feedback.

Eighteenth Century Drama

Eighteenth Century Drama features the John Larpent Collection from the Huntington Library – a unique archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824. The resource also features correspondence between key theatrical figures, biographical information, portraits, advertisement and historical information. The companion texts The London Stage 1660-1800 and A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers & Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800 feature as both scans in their original printed format and as a searchable database.

Foreign Office Files for Japan 1919-1952

Providing significant insight into this fascinating period of Japanese history, these Foreign Office files provide full-text searchable access to formerly restricted top level discussions and correspondence from the British Embassy and consulate in Japan. Files consist of wide-ranging material, including memoranda, reports, minute sheets and correspondence, along with detailed assessments of key events, speeches and topics of special interest.

Literary Manuscripts Leeds

This project offers scholars the opportunity to examine complete facsimile images of manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the celebrated Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds. Poets represented include Mary Campbell, John Dryden, George Herbert, Mary Leapor, Andrew Marvell, Alexander Pope, Hester Pulter and Jonathan Swift. There are also countless songs, riddles and popular tags which tell us even more about contemporary society.

Literary Print Culture

Explore this unique archive relating to the history of printing, publishing and bookselling dating from 1554 to the 20th century. The Stationers’ Company was a key agent in the process by which the book trade was regulated and monitored and thus it is widely regarded as one of the most important sources for studying the history of the book, publishing history, the history of copyright and the workings of an early London Livery Company.

Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape

The Wordsworth Trust is recognized as the leading archival collection of Wordsworth manuscripts anywhere in the world. The collection offers an insight into the working methods of the poet and the wider social, political and natural environment that shaped much of his work. In addition, this collection makes available the writings of Dorothy Wordsworth through her much celebrated Grasmere Journals, Alfoxden diary and travel journals. Verse manuscripts and correspondence from leading literary lights of the Romantic period such as Samuel Taylor Coleridge and Robert Southey are also available as well as a strong collection of Thomas de Quincey manuscripts.

 Shakespeare in Performance

Shakespeare in Performance features rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC. The prompt books tell the stories of key performances as they were put on in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and further afield, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries. In a mixture of handwritten manuscripts and printed typescripts, often interspersed with personal notes, sketches, and cues for lighting and music, this resource takes users behind the scenes to shine a light on how the Bard’s timeless works have been interpreted by theatre companies, actors and directors across the centuries.  *Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.

Socialism on Film

Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), this collection of documentary, newsreel and feature films reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, and Latin American filmmakers. Ranging from the early 20th century to the 1980s, material encapsulates the themes of war, revolution, news, current affairs, culture and society. The project makes available the superb ETV-Plato Films collection put together by the British communist Stanley Forman in the years after the Second World War – produced almost exclusively in the communist world and then versioned into English for distribution in the West.  *Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.

Further info.

Access these and other trials from our Trials Webpage.

E-Resource trials ending soon

Leave a reply

Less than 1 week left to try out some potential new e-resources.

Elgar Advanced Introductions to Law

Introductions to major fields in Law. Designed to be accessible yet rigorous, they offer concise and lucid surveys of the issues associated with discrete subject areas. The aims of the series are two-fold; to pinpoint essential principles of a particular field, and to offer insights that stimulate critical thinking. By distilling the vast amount of information available on the subject area into a concise and meaningful form, the volumes serve as accessible introductions for undergraduate and graduate students coming to the subject for the first time. Importantly, they also develop well-informed, nuanced critiques of the field that will challenge and extend the understanding of advanced students, scholars and policy-makers. PDF downloads are unavailable during the trial.

Trials ends: 15/11/17

 

HAPI

The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides bibliographic citations to over 380 scholarly journals and links to the full text contents of over 675 journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970. Subject coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.

Trial ends: 15/11/17

 

Women’s Magazine Archive I and II

Women’s Magazine Archive comprises archival runs of leading women’s consumer magazines of the twentieth century. The magazines are all scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color, ensuring that the original print artifacts are faithfully reproduced and that valuable non-article items, such as advertisements, are included. Titles include Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal and Seventeen.

Trial ends 16/11/17

 

Further info.

Access these and other trials from our Trials Webpage.

Aerial Digimap – New E-Resource now available

Leave a reply

digimap-logo

We have expanded our Digimap holdings to include Aerial Digimap.  Aerial Digimap provides detailed aerial imagery data from Getmapping at various fixed scales. Most data is post-2011 with updates due each year. Users will be able to view maps through their web browser, save maps for printing and download the map data for use in GIS or CAD software.

Further info

A twenty minute presentation on Aerial Digimap is available at https://youtu.be/rAiO4XXRD5Q

Aerial Digmap is available via DiscoverEd or our Databases AZ list.

E-Resource Trials now live

Leave a reply

We have the following e-resources on trial.  All e-resources on trial are listed on our trials webpage where trial feedback forms can also be completed.

Mango Languages

Mango Languages offer online interactive courses for learning over 70 languages. It consists of two types of resources: Mango Conversations teaches through native-speaker dialogue, cultural insights, and critical thinking exercises, while Mango Premiere teaches foreign languages logothrough the dialogue and culture found in full-length international films. Proprietary technology includes interactive subtitles and colour coding which allow learners t easily understand meaning, word order, and grammatical structures. Applications for mobile devices are also available through Google Play and App Store.

Trial ends 31/10/2016

Art Source

Art Soruce

Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.

Trial ends 31/10/2016

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully int bib theatre danceindexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains more than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs.

Trial ends 31/10/2016

Film Television and Literature Index with full text

film tv litFilm & Television Literature Index™ with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

Trial ends 31/10/2016

Further info

The following e-resources have been on trial throughout 2016:

Annual Review of Vision Science

Annual Reviews has recently launched a new journal that reviews progress in the field of Vision Science. This journal will be an important resource for anyone wishing to understand vision in health and disease as it integrates a broad set of connected disciplines including psychology, neuroscience, computer science, cell biology and genetics, and clinical medicine. The Annual Review of Vision Science will cover topics and techniques including optics, the retina, central visual processing, visual perception, eye movements, visual development, vision models, computer vision, and the mechanisms of visual disease, dysfunction, and sight restoration.

Trial ends 30/11/2016

IBISWorld

IBISWorld is an online industry intelligence solution.  Each of its industry reports provides the most detailed performance data and analysis on the market; supply chain information; forecasts; risk scores; operating strengths and weaknesses; analysis of external drivers; major player market strategies; and industry profit and costs benchmarks. Reports are updated 1-4 times per year depending on how fast moving the industry is ensuring the most up to date research possible.  In addition to coursework/assignments, these reports would be of use to students researching industries for placements, future careers (including start up research) and interview preparation.  A user guide can be downloaded here.

We are trialling access to this database during 2016 please continue to complete the trial feedback form if you would like the subscription to continue beyond 2016.  Access in 2016 has been funded by the Careers Service, the Business School and the Library.

Statista.com

Statista is one of the world’s largest and most extensive statistics and market data platforms.  With a team of over 120 statisticians, database experts, analysts and editors, Statista provides students, faculty and researchers with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data and statistics from 18,000 sources and on 60,000 different topics giving access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics in Arts and Humanities, Health and Life Sciences, Science, Engineering and Technology  and Social Sciences.  Updated daily.

We are trialling access to this database during 2016 please continue to complete the trial feedback form if you would like the subcription to continue beyond 2016.

e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection 

Access to all 2200 titles in humanities and social sciences published by Duke University Press.  Individual titles have been added to DiscoverEd – see the list at Duke University Press (3rd tab).  2016 published content will be purchased and all pre 2016 content is on trial throughout 2016.  Decisions on further purchases will be made according to usage and trial feedback.

Trial ends 31/12/2016

Amirsys Imaging Reference Center

Leave a reply

logo amirsys

Amirsys Imaging Reference Center is a new subscription for the academic year 2016-17.

Amirsys Imaging Reference Center offers a comprehensive source of radiology references with a combination of high-quality images, classical diagnoses, and evidence-based clinical content.

Contents include:

  • 72,000 x-ray, CT, MR, and ultrasound illustrations and images.
  •  Expert, evidence-based content – including over 4,000 diagnoses provided by imaging experts.
  •  Over 40,000 journal references.

Image topics serve a wide range of medical professionals across a comprehensive list of searchable categories, including:

screenshot

Amirsys Screenshot

• Brain
• Breast
• Cardiovascular
• Chest
• GI & Urology
• Gynecology
• Head & Neck
• Musculoskeletal
• Nuclear Medicine
• Obstetrics
• Pediatrics
• Spine
• Ultrasound

Access this new database via our main A-Z list, Medicine AZ list, Nursing AZ list and DiscoverEd.

Oxford Bibliographies – additional modules purchased

Leave a reply

OBO proof1

Following a successful trial at the end of last year, Oxford Bibliographies modules have been purchased in the following subject areas:

  • American Literature
  • Anthropology
  • Biblical Studies
  • British and Irish Literature
  • Criminology
  • Education
  • Hindu Studies
  • International Law
  • International Relations
  • Jewish Studies
  • Linguistics
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Sociology

Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

Each subject area has an Editor in Chief, Editorial Board, and team of peer reviewers overseeing the development and updating of articles ensuring balanced perspective with scholarly accuracy and a robust updating program to keep researchers informed of advances in their field.  See http://oxfordbibliographiesonline.com/obo/page/subject-list for the list of articles included in each subject module.

Access Oxford Bibliographies via DiscoverEd or the Databases A-Z list.

Africa Wide Information – database trial

Leave a reply

africa wide logoThe Library has set up trial access to Africa Wide Information (Ebsco) until 30th June.

Africa-Wide Information comprises an aggregation of 50 databases sourced from Africa, Europe and North America.  Africa-Wide provides comprehensive, multidisciplinary information which documents research and publications by Africans and about Africa.

Africa-Wide covers close to 4 million news articles,  scholarly publications articles, books, reports, theses, citations, and grey literature.  Records include article abstracts and some full text with keyword indexing to enhance relevant retrieval.  The coverage is comprehensive from the 18th century to current and dates back to the 16th century.  Africa-Wide Information is an essential resource for those with an interest in African research and publications and for those doing research in an African context, no matter the subject field.

See the full list of databases included in this trial along with their descriptions at http://www.nisc.co.za/products/22/databases/africa-wide-information

This trial is listed in DiscoverEd and the E-Resources Trial Webpage where links to trial feedback forms can be found.

Trials ending soon

Leave a reply

Last chance to try out the following e-resources and make purchase recommendations.  All can be accessed from the E-Resources Trial webpage:

JoMI logoJournal of Medical Insight (JoMI) – on trial until 27th May

JoMI is surgical video journal providing cutting edge techniques and education for medical professionals via high quality video and animations.  JoMI films orthopedic surgery, trauma surgery, general surgery, and other surgeries at Massachusetts General Hospital, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Tufts Medical Center, Boston Medical Center, among other top hospitals.

BT logoBuilding Types Online – on trial until 31st May

Large international collection of contemporary buildings, from housing and offices to museums, schools and other building types.  Focus on floor plans and sectional drawings in unrivalled quality.  A large part of the drawings are vector-based.  The case studies combine an in-depth analytical description with high-quality drawings.  In addition to that, there are thematic articles that provide coherent background information on the key design issues for each building type.  Elaborate Search and Browse functions allow for all kinds of user-specific research, based on a systematically structured approach to building typology that was developed by the editor of this database, Professor Oliver Heckmann of Singapore University of Technology and Design, an expert on housing.  The database will be updated yearly with new examples and additional building types.

CK logoClinicalKey – on trial until 31st May

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that helps health professionals make better decisions anywhere, anytime, in any patient scenario.  ClinicalKey’s Smart Search saves time by preventing unnecessary extra searches.  ClinicalKey allows you to access the latest (indexed daily), most evidence-based answers in every medical and surgical speciality and contains the fulltext of Elsevier e-journals, e-books as well as videos, images and guidelines.  More info at the following blog post.

LE logoThe Literary Encyclopedia – on trial until 31st May

The Literary Encyclopedia publishes biographies of major and minor writers; scholarly descriptions of all interesting texts written by these authors, including those often neglected; and a variety of descriptive and critical essays on literary, cultural and historical matters, which provide a finer understanding of the social contexts in which this writing was produced.  Includes coverage of English, American, German, Russian, Italian, French and Classical literatures, as well as substantial and increasing coverage of Hispanic, Japanese, Canadian, East European and various postcolonial literatures. (Other major literatures to be added as resources permit.)  Currently has about 7557 completed articles, with a total of about 15.77 million words with around 20-40 articles added to the Encyclopedia every month.  More info at the following blog post.

Further info

If you would like to recommend a resource for trial/purchase, please fill out a trial request form – http://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/library-museum-gallery/finding-resources/library-databases/e-resources-trials/e-resource-trial-request