Using the Library remotely – DiscoverEd TAGS: academic support librarian | Books | databases | DiscoverEd | e-books | e-journals | online resources With many of you currently not in Edinburgh and access to our Library’s print collections severely restricted, being able to access books, journals and other materials online has become even …Continue reading →

Discovering ProQuest Primary Sources TAGS: 19th century | 20th century | Africa | Archives | Black history | Britain | cultural history | databases | Europe | gender studies | history | Iran | Newspapers | official documents | Politics | primary source | social history | United States Looking for primary sources and historical documents for your dissertation or research project? Interested in finding out more about how to search some of the primary source databases you have …Continue reading →

Meet your LexisNexis Student Associate! TAGS: databases | informationskills | Legal databases | LexisLibrary | research | Training We’d like to introduce you to Sam Ingleton, one of your fellow students who is a specialist in working with LexisNexis and all their resources – such as the invaluable …Continue reading →

Meet your Westlaw Student Representative! TAGS: databases | information skills | Legal databases | Training | westlaw We often receive requests from students for help with databases, but did you know that there’s a student specialist who can help you with all things Westlaw? Sofia Renshaw is …Continue reading →

Bread Rationing: a surprising and timely subject TAGS: 20th century | Archives | Britain | correspondence | databases | history | Magazines | Newspapers | primary source | rationing | social history | World War Two Today’s post, highlighting the wide range of newspaper archive databases the Library has and how these can be used to research a particular topic or event, is written by Louise …Continue reading →

Dissertation Festival 2020 TAGS: African Studies | anthropology | Archives | databases | dissertation | Events | International Relations | Library | online resources | Politics | postgraduate | primary sources | Science Technology and Innovation studies | social anthropology | social policy | Social Work | Sociology | South Asian Studies | undergraduate From 26 October – 6 November the Library is running a virtual Dissertation Festival. The online events taking place during this two week period will highlight what the Library can …Continue reading →

New! Kenya and Zimbabwe under colonial rule, in Government reports TAGS: 20th century | African Studies | Archives | Black history | colonial studies | databases | Decolonisation | history | International Relations | new | online resources | Politics | primary sources | Social & Political Sciences I’m happy to let you know that the Library now has access to two digital primary source collections covering colonial rule in African countries in the 20th century. The two …Continue reading →

New to the Library: African American Newspapers TAGS: 19th century | 20th century | African American studies | Archives | Black history | cultural history | databases | history | Newspapers | political history | primary source | social history | United States I’m pleased to let you know that the Library now has access to African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2 from Readex. These fascinating databases provide online access to approximately …Continue reading →

New! British Labour Party and Independent Labour Party Papers TAGS: 20th century | Archives | Britain | databases | history | Labour Party | new | official documents | online resources | Politics | primary sources | Social & Political Sciences | U.K. I’m happy to let you know that the Library now has access to 3 British Online Archive digital collections of primary source documents relating to British political history in the …Continue reading →

New to the Library: Scottish nationalist leaflets, 1844-1973 TAGS: 19th century | 20th century | Archives | Britain | databases | England | history | Politics | primary source | Scotland | Scottish independence | Scottish National Party | SNP I’m happy to let you know that the Library now has access to the database Scottish nationalist leaflets, 1844-1973 from British Online Archives. This digital primary source database collects together …Continue reading →