New on trial for University of Edinburgh users from 10 April to 11 May 2013 is the Index Religiosus Online.
The Index Religiosus replaces the bibliography of the Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and of the ‘Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses’ (Elenchus Bibliographicus). These two tools are internationally recognized as essential working instruments for Theology and Religious Studies.
As a key reference bibliography for Theology, Religious Studies and Church History, it includes publications written in multiple European languages (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch), and enables users to export records in several formats (EndNote, Refworks, Zotero, etc.)
From January 2014 onwards, the printed version of the bibliography of the Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus will no longer be available.
You can access the trial via the link at : http://www.ed.ac.uk/is/databases-trials. Please give us your feedback as this is a key part of making a case to subscribe to resources like this.
Christine Love-Rodgers, Academic Support Librarian – School of Divinity
Want to find out more about how the religious landscape of Scotland today?
A significant seminar “The Religious Life of Scotland Today: Insights from the 2011 Census” is being held on Thursday 21st November, 12.30 – 2.00 pm, 19 George Square, Room G2. Organised by Professor Hugh Goddard, Director of the HRH Prince Alwaleed bin Talal Centre for the Study of Islam in the Contemporary World, University of Edinburgh, speakers include Amy Wilson, Head of Census Statistics at the National Records of Scotland.
In 2013 the Library added The World Religion Database (WRD) to its online resources. It contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious
demography. The Library also subscribes to its partner database, the World Christian Database, which provides comprehensive statistical information on Christian denominations worldwide. Extensive data are available on 9,000 Christian denominations, 13,000 ethnolinguistic peoples, as well as data on 5,000 cities, 3,000
provinces and 239 countries. Information is readily available on
religious activities, growth rates, religious literature, worker
activity, and demographic statistics.