5 things to remember if using the Library this summer TAGS: Books | databases | DiscoverEd | E-book | e-books | e-journals | e-resources | Library | online resources | resources | students | subject guides | summer vacation The summer vacation period officially started this week! And while many of you are probably thinking the last thing you want to do is use the Library over the summer …Continue reading →

Welcome! Key library resources for 2022/23 TAGS: digital skills | DiscoverEd | information literacy | Library | LibSmart | online resources | reading lists | students | subject guides It’s been a bit quiet here on the ASL blog for the past couple of months and that’s because August and September are always spent preparing for the start of …Continue reading →

Recordings of Lunchtime Seminars: Decolonising and Diversifying the Library TAGS: antiracism | decolonialising | Diversity | e-resources | information literacy | online resources | reading lists | resources | students | subject guides | unconscious bias Our recent post on Decolonising and Diversifying the Library introduced the short seminar series the ASL team ran during lunchtimes in July. We’re delighted to be able to follow up …Continue reading →

LILAC 2022: Power structures in library and information services TAGS: antiracism | class | critical information skills | databases | decolonialising | Diversity | e-resources | information literacy | Library | online resources | open access | power structures | resources | subject guides | subject headings | unconscious bias Last month, three of our Academic Support Librarians team attended the LILAC conference. LILAC is a conference for librarians and information professionals who teach information literacy skills, are interested in …Continue reading →

Disability Studies: A New Subject Guide TAGS: Accessibility | databases | disability | Diversity | e-resources | inclusion | online resources | students | subject guides The Subject Guides are a useful tool in getting started with your research. Whether you’re an Engineer or a Classicist, they contain a wealth of information for navigating library resources, …Continue reading →

Dissertation Festival: Exploring library resources for dissertations in gender studies TAGS: Archives | Centre for Research Collections | digital skills | DiscoverEd | Dissertation Festival | gender studies | IAD | information literacy | LGBTQ+ studies | Lothian Health Service Archive | research methods | resources | subject guides | yewno As part of the 2022 Dissertation Festival, running from 7th-18th March and facilitated by the Academic Support Librarians, Digital Skills and IAD teams, I was invited to attend an online …Continue reading →

Finding Resources: Subject Guides TAGS: Archaeology | biology | Business | Chemistry | classics | cultures | databases | digital skills | DiscoverEd | Divinity | e-books | e-journals | e-resources | ECA | Economics | Engineering | GeoSciences | Health in Social Science | history | Informatics | information literacy | Language Sciences | languages | Library | literatures | Medicine | Moray House | online resources | Philosophy | Physics | psychology | social and political science | student blog | subject guides | Veterinary medicine Where to start? Following on from my general tips for finding resources and navigating the online library, this blog post will cover why you should check out Subject Guides, and …Continue reading →

Finding Resources: Navigating the Online Library TAGS: databases | digital skills | e-books | e-journals | e-resources | Library | online resources | students | subject guides The Online Library is a vast resource. Whatever you study, you will find what you need in the Library collections. For all that it is wide and wonderful, however, I know (from personal …Continue reading →

Critical Approaches to Libraries 2021(CALC) Day 2 TAGS: antiracism | conference | critical information skills | decolonialising | Diversity | pandemic | race | reading lists | subject guides | unconscious bias | video It is once again Conference Season, where academic librarians would usually be collecting a variety of colourful lanyards, discussing who had the best snacks with mid-morning coffee and which exhibitors …Continue reading →

A guide to subject guides TAGS: dissertation | online resources | students | subject guides One of the key parts of our role as librarians is to help staff and students find the things they need to complete their work. One way in which we …Continue reading →